History of Youth Salute

The National Council on Youth Leadership is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1976 and dedicated to the belief that the recognition we give to young men and women today serves as a powerful inspiration that can shape their behavior in tomorrow’s world. The Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership has been affiliated with the national council since 1981.

The purpose of the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership is to honor high school juniors who have maintained at least a 3.0 grade point average through the end of their sophomore year and have held two leadership roles to which they were chosen by their peers or an adult leader within the past two years in school, religious or community sponsored organizations.  The council helps young people grow into responsible adults by encouraging, recognizing and developing leadership.

Celebrating 42 years of “Youth Salute”!

The Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership has recognized 26,903 outstanding youth leaders from 61 area high schools during the past 42 years in a program known as “Youth Salute”

Annually we send 6 students to the Town Meeting on Tomorrow (the National Leadership Conference) in St. Louis Missouri. At least one of our students has placed in the top ten nationally in 1992, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.